Maswick Governs Tough Training Session

Dec 20-  Have you ever noticed that Bob Maswick knows everyone at MVH?  He’s the Mayor of Mt Van Hoevenberg.  He is always shaking hands and kissing babies and is unafraid to take the occasional kickback. 

Maswick hobnobs with a typical MVH skier...
Maswick hobnobs with a typical MVH skier...

Well, Mayor Maz took on a new governing role yesterday as he led some members of Peru Nordic through a long training session designed to , “…make ME faster.”   Perfect blue hard wax conditions and surprisingly good glide greeted the skiers as they did a few fartlek hill climbs.  Then, Maz made everyone line up in the stadium to practice classic sprint starts and double pole sprint intervals. 

Maz works the "hot feet" drill
Maz works the "hot feet" drill

This culminated with a final sprint from the top of innerloopen to Gauntlet Stadium.  “This had to be the most aggressive sprint finish I have ever seen,” said one observer,”…there was some serious acceleration over the flatlander bridge, some hand fighting and aggressive jockeying for position, and then some of the most balls-out double poling – complete with USST high hands and H-position arms- that I have ever seen!!!”

"let me know how I can help YOU..."
“let me know how I can help YOU…”

As of press time, it was unclear whether Maz would be heading down to Lapland Lake for the Reindeer Roundup.  “You know, now that I am so fast after today’s training session, it might be unfair for me to show up down there and dominate the M5 division, plus it might snow, and I would have to get up really early and I would have to drive all that way, and I will probably do too much precovery tonight anyway…”

Leave a Reply

